The girl from the foreign language class

“Akash, 46 marks.”

Mr. Nazi, my German professor, which is not his real name, screamed at full of his potential. Usually he is barely audible but this time, call it my fortune or my misfortune he was loud enough to draw everyone’s eyes on me. Bishwa who was proudly seated on one of the last benches threw me an air punch and gave me I-am-going-to-kill-you look as if I’ve betrayed him or have done something equally hazardous. Well actually I did nothing wrong but I’ve wronged him because it is one of the most sacred and unsaid rule of brotherhood that either we clear an exam together or we must fail together and this time I passed and he didn’t. In fact I got 46 out of 50 which was nowhere near flunking line, I was second from the top and the moment I will walk out of this class I am a dead man.

I don’t know whether to be happy or to be sad about it. There she is, on her favourite front row seat and I am continuously staring at her and this girl she hasn’t looked back at me for once. I have never seen her doing anything but maintaining balance between words written on board and her notebook, adjusting her non stylish geeky glasses on her perfectly shaped nose hiding her amazing eyes behind them. For refreshments she will look down for her carry bag to bring out a beautiful metallic water-bottle and will drink from it, all this time as she is having a blue Reynolds’s pen in her right hand, she dry her lips with her left palm and you can witness this process on loop in every German class, unfortunately two per week.

01

It has been almost two month since I have seen her for the first time. I am not usually a class going type boy but when I go I try to win a last bench province and make my establishment there and settle myself in the best possible hiding area available which henceforth lowers the risk of me getting caught by professor and be thrown out of the lecture hall. This very day for the first time I couldn’t secure the last bench and was forced to sit in the third row from the front. It was disastrous; everything was so strange for me and was creating negativity in my personal atmosphere. I can smell typical classmate notebooks scribbled with ink and graphite around me. Everyone there was sitting like a hunter preying on every single word uttered from my not so Jew not so Hitler short sweet insanely patience professor and on other hand I had no clue what was going on at all.

I looked here and there only to realise that I know none of these smart studious undergraduate human beings craving for good score. I looked back at my friends, the real masterminds behind this evil master plan, who were waiting for me to turn just to make fun of me. Within span of next few microsecond I realised that instead of looking anywhere it will be better if I study the configuration of my shoe laces, so I looked down and while I was busy wondering types of different isomers which can be formed I heard a voice. This voice was enchanting enough to draw attention of every single cell in my body and without referring to my any of the previous physics and biology related knowledge I was able to identify that the person speaking is a girl probably seated somewhere in the front row and she have a doubt.

I looked above and it was not hard to locate her, I couldn’t understand anything she said, obviously she was speaking in German, and everything she said was beautiful and when she stopped I was like come on girl you need to ask few more doubts somebody here is trying to focus on you. I found a reason to stay awake in the class. I looked at her again; the angle from here was perfect. I could see her even without moving my stuffs. Although her dark dense short black curly hairs weren’t allowing me to get a clear look but it was enough I was already in love with her.

When it comes to approach a girl, I lack an enormous amount of courage which is the reason I couldn’t get to talk her in these past two months. All I have done is to sit somewhere near her from where I can see her and I wait for her to nod or shake her head in disagreement which make her face somewhat more clearly visible. As far as my imaginative powers can imagine it is reasonable that she might have caught me stalking her. For me it was easier to learn German to understand what she speaks than to ask her out or just to have a conversation in any common tongue and I did selected first option.

If you ask me I don’t even know her name and I didn’t asked my friends to gather every possible information about her but what I am confirm about is that I can recognise her voice even while I am sleeping, I can find her walking among millions of faces. Well today’s lecture is finished and now she will walk out of that door in sixteen steps, yes I counted them too and I will have to wait for next three days to see her again and its better if I turn my sleeping mode on before my friends get hold of me.

“Akash??”

Did she just called me or it’s just in my head? What if she is really standing right here at this moment and I am keeping my head down thinking it’s all in my mind. Should I look above for once just to confirm her presence? What if after seeing her in real, just few inches away from me, facing me or in other words looking at me changes my normal heartbeats to something else and eventually I will end up doing something more stupid than what I usually do. I need courage and I need support of my every alive cell, no matter of which categories they are, to provide me strength enough to say her hello.

I got up.

I look her straight in the eyes and wave my hand in gesture of saying hello. She smiled and I am in love with her smile.

“Hi, I am Maanvi.”

“I am Akash.”

And I am in love with you.

16Candles%20Transition

4 thoughts on “The girl from the foreign language class

Leave a Reply

