Cigarettes and Chocolates

2199070-vvvehwym-7

Come save me, please

It’s dark here and cold too;

I’m afraid of

What this silence can do.

Chocolates? Oh, I’ll never ask for them again, and

I’ll never cry for cartoons while you’re watching your football game.

I’ll stop crying; I’ll be strong,

I can bring your cigarettes now; I won’t be gone long.

I’ll mop, I’ll do dishes and I won’t play,

Just take me out; I’ll do whatever you say.

I’ll stand quiet when your friends visit us

Trying not to act strange.

Dad, I’m just five years old, and

I swear I can change.


International Statistics on Child Abuse

  • 40 million children subjected to abuse each year. 
  • Suicide is the third leading cause of death among adolescents worldwide.
  • 30% of severely disabled children in special homes in the Ukraine die before 18 years of age.
  • Approximately 20% of women and 5–10% of men report being sexually abused as children, while 25–50% of all children report being physically abused. 
  • Statistics indicate that 3 million young girls are subjected to genital mutilation every year.

Children cannot stop CHILD ABUSE… but Adults can..

Leave a Reply

